Is Virgin broadband any good?

virgin media mother broadband

VIRGIN Media are, hands down, the UK's fastest mainstream broadband provider.

Our Rating

Value for money:

Customer service:

5 out of 5

But they don't always come out on top in other areas, like price and coverage.

We've been covering Virgin Media since 2006, back when they were called NTL, and we've condensed all that superbly geeky but otherwise pretty useless knowledge into this review.

Let's start out with three things that really make Virgin Media broadband stand out.


There's no competition for first place on the list.

Broadband speeds

It's now possible to get entry level fibre at speeds of up to 52Mb from a couple of providers on the BT Openreach network, which means that Virgin Media's slowest broadband now has much wider competition.

But it's cheaper than BT's - and it's by far the slowest deal Virgin offer. Virgin themselves say that nearly half of their customers take a deal offering at least 100Mb.

Package Broadband Price (inc line rental)
virgin media SuperFibre 50 + Talk Weekends Up to 50Mb
for 12 mths,
then £40
virgin media Vivid 100 + Talk Weekends Up to 100Mb
for 12 mths,
then £45
virgin media Vivid 200 + Talk Weekends Up to 200Mb
for 12 mths,
then £53
virgin media Vivid 200 Gamer + Talk Weekends Up to 200Mb
for 12 mths,
then £58

And - at the lower speeds at least - the advertised speed more or less accurately represents the speeds customers actually get.

Here's how fast Virgin Media cable and BT fibre services were on average according to Ofcom research, the most accurate data on speeds we have available, released in March 2016:

Advertised Speed Average over 24 hours Average at peak times
(8-10pm weekdays)
bt Up to 38Mb* 34.3Mb - 35.5Mb 33.8Mb - 35.1Mb
virgin media Up to 50Mb 49.4Mb - 51.6Mb 44.6Mb - 49.1Mb
bt Up to 76Mb 57.4Mb - 61.1Mb 56.9Mb - 60.5Mb
virgin media Up to 100Mb 93.3Mb - 98.2Mb 81.6Mb - 90.6Mb
virgin media Up to 200Mb 168.0Mb - 179.9Mb 148.0Mb - 164.4Mb

*BT launched their up to 52Mb service in April 2016; the first results are likely to appear in the next set of Ofcom figures.

When these figures were compiled, Virgin had only just begun to roll out their new 200Mb service.

Using SamKnows, who help Ofcom compile those results, Virgin have been releasing figures regularly since the new package came in to show how it's performing - and they've shown a gradual improvement month on month.

Here's how Virgin found the package was doing in its first month, and the most recent SamKnows results:

Month Average over 24 hours Peak (8-10pm weekdays)
Up to 200Mb October 2015 170.05Mb 130.85Mb
Up to 200Mb August 2016 187.8Mb 158.1Mb

SOURCE: SamKnows and Virgin Media. Available here.

There's a more in depth comparison of Virgin Media and BT Infinity services here, but in terms of speeds, the figures above speak for themselves: Virgin Media are genuinely much faster than their closest competitors.

That should give Virgin Media customers a far easier time streaming video, using VoIP services like Skype, or downloading large files, as well as increasing the efficiency of everyday browsing.

Cable also gives Virgin Media other advantages - they can offer broadband without a phone line, for example - but speed is the most obvious benefit and, we think, a major reason for Virgin Media's surprisingly high customer satisfaction ratings.

Price vs. closest competitors

Virgin Media also do well on price, at least compared with their closest competitors, Sky and BT.

For example, here are three lower cost bundles from the three providers.

Package Broadband Total monthly price (inc line rental)
virgin media Virgin Media Player Bundle Up to 50Mb
for 12 mths,
then £45
sky Sky TV Original + Broadband 12GB + Talk Up to 17Mb
12GB usage
BT BT TV Entertainment Starter + Unlimited Broadband + Weekend calls Up to 17Mb
for 12 mths,
then £31.99

It's clear that despite offering considerably more in terms of broadband, Virgin Media remain competitive on price.

Of course, it's hard to compare these providers as they all offer different services, with emphasis on different parts of their bundles. We look at the differences between the UK's biggest bundle providers in our full guide to Virgin versus Sky here.

On the plus side, not only does this very competitive market keep bundle costs fairly low, it also drives providers to keep up the special offers to attract new customers. Here are Virgin's current deals:

What's on offer? When you join online for:
virgin media Money off TV, broadband and phone for up to 12 months + free set up worth £49.95One of Virgin Media's Big Bundles
virgin media Save over £180 on broadband and phone + free set up Virgin Media broadband
(with a Virgin phone line)
virgin media Exclusive offer: 50Mb broadband + phone £5 a month for the first 6 months (then £17.50)This exclusive 50Mb broadband and weekend calls deal only

Virgin Media Tivo

Finally, Virgin Media are the only place in the UK to get the Tivo TV service.

A Tivo box now comes with a Virgin Media TV subscription as standard, although subscribing to the actual Tivo service usually costs £5 a month for those without a pre-made "Big" Virgin bundle.

Virgin vs BT vs Sky
Their set top boxes compared

Like the boxes provided by other pay TV services, Tivo allows subscribers to pause and rewind TV, and to record hundreds of hours of shows on the box.

Unlike the standard boxes from other providers, Tivo allows users to record up to three channels at once - but it's Tivo's intelligent suggestions that really make the boxes stand out.

Subscribers can rate any programme they like - both positively and negatively - which enables Tivo to record not only pre-selected and "wish list" shows, but also those it thinks they might like based on their other ratings.

Basically, there's no excuse for ever watching Most Haunted again, unless Tivo has clocked that someone in the house likes being mildly unsettled.

For more on Tivo see our guide here.

Beyond Tivo, Virgin Media's TV options break down like this:

Package Channels Free HD Channels Price
Virgin Media Mix TV 150+ 11 £24.50
Virgin Media Fun TV 190+ 11 £31.50
virgin media Full House TV 245+ 50 £41.50

Have a look at our full review of Virgin's TV services here, and check out our TV comparison page (here) to find out which bundles include any must have channels.

Beaten elsewhere

Like all providers, Virgin Media have their problems. Here are a few of the things we think everyone thinking of signing up to them should know about.


The biggest problem anyone thinking about taking Virgin Media faces is availability.

Covering just under half of UK premises, they just aren't an option in as many homes as BT or Sky. Even where Virgin are available, not every household will be able to access their fastest deals.

Virgin said they hoped to have everyone on their network capable of receiving up to 200Mb by mid 2016 - but while new customers are being given the top speed possible, existing customers have been told they may have to wait until summer 2017 for their service to be upgraded.

And when they announced their biggest ever expansion plan in February 2015, which aims to increase the network's coverage to about 60% of the UK by 2019, they were been criticised for concentrating on plugging the gaps rather than bringing superfast broadband to a geographically wider audience.

They have since begun to address this criticism by expanding to smaller communities where there's plenty of demand - and they've named 40 such communities since announcing they were taking applications in March.

Generally, however, it's still the case that Virgin Media is available in the more densely populated areas.

Have a look using our postcode checker below - but note that for slightly complicated reasons, about which there's more here, we don't have enough data to ensure that our coverage information is 100% accurate.

For best results, check on the Virgin Media site too.

Enter your phone number and / or postcode above to check availability in your area.

Price vs. the cheapest deals

Although Virgin Media manage to be pretty competitive on price, in general they're no match for the UK's budget broadband prices.

To pay rock bottom prices on just broadband and calls, go elsewhere - have a look at our cheap broadband comparison table, here, to see who's offering what.

About those speeds: traffic management and latency

Unfortunately, we need to talk about those speeds again.

Although Virgin Media broadband is fast, it doesn't always offer the best internet experience for everyone.

Virgin no longer throttle heavy downloaders, but they do use traffic management to tackle high bandwidth uploaders at peak times - anyone who goes beyond certain limits will be throttled for at least an hour at a time.

Upload speeds are underwhelming at best: less than 10% of the download speed for any particular package - with people on the 152Mb and 200Mb packages getting just 12Mb.

Those taking Virgin's gamer-specific 200Mb package will get uploads of 20Mb.

Compare that to budget provider Plusnet, who, according to Ofcom, deliver average upload speeds approaching 17Mb for customers on their 76Mb service.

There's also the matter of latency - the time it takes for a signal to "ping" between destinations - which is sometimes high.

For most users, these problems aren't going to be an issue, but heavy users should take a look at our guide here on fair use policies for more information.

Find out more on how latency can affect internet services in our gaming guide here and more on factors that affect speeds in general here.

The best Virgin Media deal

Virgin Media have become one of the UK's biggest providers by speeding up their service and bundling other competitively priced services like home phone, TV and mobile.

We get asked a lot what the "best" Virgin Media deal is - a reflection of the befuddlingly large range of bundle options, aimed at giving subscribers the exact combination of services they want.

Virgin Media seem to be aware of this problem.

While they offer customers the chance to the chance to build their own bundle, the best place to start looking for a good value deal is with the provider's own pre-made deals:

Package Broadband TV Calls Total monthly price (inc line rental)
virgin media Player Bundle Up to 50Mb 70+ channels (11 HD) and Tivo Talk Weekends £31
for 12 mths,
then £45
virgin media Mix Bundle Up to 50Mb 150+ channels (11 HD) and Tivo Talk Weekends £37
for 12 mths,
then £50
virgin media Fun Bundle Up to 100Mb 190+ channels (11 HD) and Tivo Talk Weekends £45
for 12 mths,
then £60
virgin media Full House Bundle Up to 200Mb 245+ channels (50 HD) and Tivo Talk Weekends £54
for 12 mths,
then £76
virgin media Virgin Media VIP Bundle Up to 200Mb 245+ channels (67 HD) and Tivo + V HD box Talk More Anytime £87.50
for 12 mths,
then £120

After picking one of these, customers can tweak and tailor elements - like more inclusive calls, or faster broadband - to their own requirements, in order to get the best out of this sprawling provider - something we hope this guide has helped with.


29 September 2016

I've just cancelled Virgin Media after 6 years of loyalty due to 9 months of unresolved faults. Having been sold an upgrade to the 200MB connection, and paying the highest tariff in the UK for the pleasure, the speed tended towards the pointlessly-low 1-2MB range, has had a top speed of only 20MB, and connection only works occasionally, i.e. there is rarely a connection. Worse, Virgin never checked the connection when I moved in.

They will not fix the problem until end of November, yet gladly have been charging me full price. Shockingly, customer service suggested I check the speed every day and call them every time if was under par. For me, that suggests that, in the staff's experience of the service and customer complaints about speed, they have no trust or confidence in the service.

Customer services told me that checking their customers' actual line speed before they started using it was not good business sense for Virgin Media. They were right - with an incredibly high margin of reportedly around 50%, unheard of elsewhere in retail, it's clear that gouging customers is one of its best ways to make a fast buck.

Now that the brand has totally lost its luster for me, and with so many operators offering unlimited 38MB and above, I have no problem - except sour taste and hassle - leaving the greedy and cynical Virgin Media behind.

26 September 2016
Aziz Hamra Webwoods

The connection speed is tolerable in my area, it's just the customer service that I find disgusting; untrained, rude staff, no internal communication and rubbish infrastructure

25 September 2016

Had the same issue with intermittent connection, they would keep saying they would reset my connection but it had never helped. Finally I have decided to switch to sky (hopefully it was a good decision). On top of this Virgin Email box is just terrible, they are unable to manage spam messages, also obviously you are losing your email when you leave them...

30 August 2016

I've subscribed to several Virginmedia services in the past with no major complaints but they now seem to have a terrible customer service. The length of time they put you on hold only to be told they can't help is very frustrating. You get cut off whilst holding and the customer service staff can't call you back because they are only incall centres. I spent about 25 minutes holding only to be put to the wrong department. It almost seems as if they put you on hold hoping you'd get tired of waiting. Although, if you're a new customer, you get excellent service right until after you've paid. Seems once you are signed up they no longer care because they bank on the contract keeping people on despite the bad service. Also, they informed me before buying the fibre optic broadband that I'd be able to use it when I moved a month later (I should have been suspicious). Since it turned out that was not the case, I cancelled the subscription. I wasn't going to pay for a service that I can no longer use. They asked me to pay £240 fee to get out of the contract which I refused. I asked them to listen to the taped recordings (which they claimed they had). Was told they would but never did. It's not a lot of money but I've had to pay it as I did not want anything negative on my credit record. I will not be using their useless service ever again that's for sure.

12 August 2016
Victoria Hughes

Virgin are truly terrible

We spoke to Virgin last year to try and change the name on the account- we were told this had been done. Found out 18 months later that it hadn't. When we called again we were told that despite the fact that the money had been coming out my account for the past 18 months, they refused to speak to me as my name wasnt on the account. They then threatened to cancel the account and not refund the money that we had paid for the month. When I pointed out that this was essentially theft the guy got extremely irate with me to the point that he reduced me to tears. I asked to speak to his manager who was even more disgusting! The worst part was this issue was their fault as they had originally told me the name had been changed!

We eventually came to the conclusion that the account would be closed and I would be refunded. I was told the account would be closed within 48 hours.

Fast forward 4 days and I rang yet again to question why I was still online. I was then told that my account was due to be closed within 14 days.

Fast forward 14 days and there was no record of the account ever being closed down.

Virgin are absolute crooks preying on customers who have no choice but to go with them due to not having a phone line. My advice to those in the same position is that landlines are far cheaper to be installed than you may think!

Avoid Virgin at all cost unless you want to be reduced to tears by their rude rude staff!

22 June 2016
Roger Charles

The one thing that really gets my goat about Virgin Media is that I have to rent a landline to get the rest of the package.

This is out of date technology and of no use to anyone. I've been a customer of Virgin for years and have not had a connected landline for almost as long - but I have have to pay them each month for something that I never use.

Wake up Virgin! I use your services but I certainly don't like you.

27 June 2016
Choose team

HI Roger,

Virgin Media is actually one of few fixed line providers that allow you to take broadband without a phone line. We have more information on this is this guide:

Hope this helps.

4 June 2016

I've been with this company through about 4 or 5 incarnations since about 1998 when it was called Telewest in my area and the dial-up Internet was Cableinet. I've never had a problem until now and would recommend them to anyone, but these days whether it is through them upgrading the network or not I get disconnected from my 50Mb connection several times daily.

It's only for a few minutes each time but if you are watching something on BBC iPlayer or your son is trying to 'own' somebody on the Xbox then being kicked off the net every couple of hours quickly becomes frustrating.

7 March 2016

Ha ha, all good reviews paid for by VM no doubt, absolute rubbish customer service, 5 days for a engineer to come then don't turn up, threaten to leave and they say go on then.
Please go somewhere else they are rubbish 1 call a month so far with problems.

28 January 2016
jinky bhoy

I think anyone reading these comments will be unfairly swayed with the negative comments. It's not as if people who have great service go looking to post it on forums. Unlike disgruntled customers.

I have dealt with Talk Talk, Sky and Virgin.
In my honest opinion Virgin is without doubt the best for price, service and customer satisfaction. I have never dealt with more obnoxious people than at Talk Talk truely shameless liars and shysters, their freeview box and terrible broadband for £60pm.

Sky services were better with Sky TV their broadband was marginally better, although £90pm after all their add one etc. I even called Sky to reduced my gran mothers bill, a customer since Sky came into her area in the 90s and they said the best they could do was change her bill to paperless and save her £1.

Now Virgins price is £50pm with free BT sports, free netflicks, free HD channels and all the entertainment channels inclusive. By far the best broadband. I have to say they have spoilt me. I am no longer as patient waiting for a page to load or a movie to stream. If its not instant or uninterrupted I am not happy. The only downside, for me is I had to move and unfortunately they aren't in my area so had to revert to their closest rival Sky which is why I am on here.

I need better broadband and Virgin aren't available, oh and customer services is 2nd to none. Virgin let me off with 2 months off my contract in comparison, Sky and Talk Talk both charged my grand mother (Sky) and my mother (Talk Talk) some onerous charges. After I conviced them to change to Virgin. Now they are both happy customers without the constant calls for tech support to their old ISPs' and they are paying less for a by far better service.

22 December 2015

Virgin media internet is awful, it's slow and it keeps disconnecting me from my hub. I have called up twice and asked what's going on with my internet and they haven't been any help either. Virgin internet is awful.

9 May 2012

I have had the Virgin XXL service, without phone line, for nearly a year now. I will not renew my contract. I get occasional disconnects and anything from 5 mins to 2 hrs before it will reconnect. The router sometimes loses its settings, and reverts to default mode. I only get the headline 50Mb speed at 6am in the morning. At 6pm, I will be lucky to see 20Mb. For satisfaction and reliability, my previous 3Mb ADSL was better. Thankfully, it appears BT Infinity serves me now, so I will likely change.

13 May 2015

Have you checked to see that your line is in the preferred power range (-12 to 54 dMbV), usually that can cause major speed problems.

8 April 2012

Virgin Media is overrated. I am having major issues with them at the moment. Basically I have had intermittent connection for how many months. I called up the tech support to be told that my laptop may be the issue. I am frustrated because the disconnection is getting more frequent. I called again to find out now they can see that I am experiencing intermittent connection. I have to add, their tech support know nothing. They are pretty much reading a list of dos because each time I call, different people end up telling me to do the same thing in the exact same order. Their solutions make no sense and are in no way connected to the problems that I am having. So after weeks and many phone complaints about their faulty line, I am still currently experiencing problems. When they sent me a text today my intermittent connection was resolved, I only then found out that I am hit with another problem which is experiencing the slowest connections ever, slow I'm saying 0.20Mb/s. I complained about this, this was supposed to be fixed a couple of days ago, marking their 5 day claim how long it should take. Now my problem is, I'm getting intermittend connection plus slows speeds of 0.00-0.02Mb/s. I'm frustrated and have already closed my services and awaiting for my new provider to take over. This was not the only issue I had with Virgin and I don't recommend them to anyone. They do not do the engineering work for their faults apparently, they have to send BT to do their work, which in essence means that they do not know what they are doing and since you are not a BT customer I doubt you will take any precedence. Overall, save your money and stress and don't go for Virgin Media based on my frustrations.

16 March 2012

I'm fed up with Virgin and I'm on the verge now of searching for a new broadband company. I have been getting intermittent internet connection for many months. I called their technical service and I strongly believe they have a checklist to determine what the issue is, which makes me believe they do not know what they are doing. I am supposed to get 11Mb, certain days I barely get 1Mb. I am on the unlimited deal and paying so much for so little in return.

I know the problem is on their end. They keep telling me to do all these stupid and silly things to fix the problem. It has not been fixed. I keep telling them on my DSL router that the lights for the WLAN, DSL and internet go off and resets on its own and I get disconnected from the internet. It happens so frequently. The latest advice was for me to connect by wire to the router directly. I kept telling their so called "technician" it disconnects even when the computer is OFF, the problem is not on my side. And he says a technician won't come until I do this for how many hours until it disconnects again. What lousy service am I paying for, if I'm having an issue that may be a potential fault on their side, why not send a technician to rule it out instead of having me calling them and putting a hassle on myself. They are absolutely incompetent and I strongly advise anyone to NOT ever sign up with Virgin Media. I have nothing but trouble with them.

11 February 2012

We went with Virgin because we don't have a landline here. Even with all the questionable advertising and invasion of privacy that BT has a reputation for, its service can't be any worse than what we have now, so when the BT fibre optic network spreads to this area in the summer we will be making the switch ASAP.

The problems with Virgin are pretty thoroughly addressed in the previous comments but I'll echo the key points: they're pretty cheeky about offering us 30Mb and 50Mb packages in addition to the basic ones even though the cables in this part of the country can't deliver nearly that kind of speed. We get 2Mb on a good day. Drops out several times a day, and often it's a problem on their end, where restarting modems and computers doesn't fix it. If I have to rely on the internet to do something important I go to a library instead. This will have to do for basic browsing and streaming videos at lowest quality.

19 January 2012

I got Virgin Broadband without the phone and I had all sorts of problems within the first three (3) months. However, the service has improved somewhat, but I still have problems. I only had 3Mb broadband in the Philippines, which is a third world country and the speed was a lot better. I find that, when I use video during a Skype conversation, after a few minutes it gets poor and I get a dropped call. Surely this shouldn't happen with broadband in a first world country like the UK when chatting to someone in another first world country. This happens no matter what time of day I'm am online... Oh, and before anyone gets into the kind of computer I'm using, all I can say is that it is well up to speed.

5 January 2012
Dave P

Is Virgin Media any good? No, very bad. Probably all you need to know.

The service in my area is appallingly slow. I sit in front of my computer waiting for pages to load, I've given up trying to download anything. The network is completely oversubscribed (by their own admission) and they have done nothing about it for over six months.

Customer service is awful. It always takes between 20 and 30 minutes to speak to someone, then I wonder why I've bothered when I hear the usual patter about fantasy fix dates.

I'm not complaining about a few weeks problems, I haven't been able to work at home for months. I'm currently paying for a service that just doesn't work. I'll be cancelling my subscription and changing providers as soon as possible.

13 December 2011
Mike O'Malley

I was going to upgrade my broadband package from 10 to 30 with V. Media.
1. No price on website for existing users, informed by e-mail after requesting upgrade.
2. Special deal price for me was £20 more than for a new customer for the same package. For new customers it would have been cheaper still if special offers were taken into account.
3. Have requested reason but expect no reply, will cancel soon.

26 November 2011

Warning to potential XXL users: Virgin now operate traffic management on ALL packages between 9am and 10pm on newsgroups and P2P traffic. My XXL broadband goes from 50Mb down to 2.5Mb when this is in effect every day. This was largely unannounced from Virgin who went back on their promise of offering 'truly unlimited' downloads some months ago.

26 November 2011
Choose team

Virgin XXL 50Mb is only traffic managed on uploads for those connections which have already had a speed upgrade from 1.5Mbps up to 5Mbps up. The resultant management for upgraded heavy up-loaders then only get slowed down to 1.75Mbps.

Virgin Media do employ traffic management on file sharing activity, such as Peer to Peer BitTorrent, etc.. But the majority of Internet users shouldn't notice a problem with this unless they're engaging in file sharing. For example, normal Internet activity such as BBC iPlayer, streaming movies and regular downloading of music, or online gaming is not affected by this.

Additionally, it should be looked at in fair comparison, because file sharing traffic management is becoming quite widespread, even providers such as Eclipse will slow down users who are doing a lot of heavy P2P downloading/uploading.

Normally where this applies ISPs are now saying that people who want to use P2P should do so outside of peak hours when they don't restrict this traffic. For Virgin Media this would be from midnight to 5pm during the week and midnight to midday on weekends.

P2P can be scheduled, so this seems quite a fair approach to us.

25 November 2011
HaKyung HAN

I totally agree with Brenna! Anything would be better than this!

While using Virgin broadband for two months my modem has broken once, and the Internet disconnects or slows down frequently, regardless of the time of day.

I can't understand why they only emphasize traffic management at peak times. My Internet disconnects unexpectedly early in the morning, during the daytime and during the evening. It isn't a matter of time or traffic, but Virgin's customer service centre still doesn't respond with a proper explanation except to repeat the traffic management period.

This is the worst broadband and customer service I have ever experienced. Please consider other broadband companies when you make a decision because your time and money are precious.

23 November 2011

I changed from Sky to Virgin about 6 months ago... and I wish I hadn't.

The signal gets "dropped" at least a couple of times a day. Sometimes for a whole day I have no wireless at all and each time I waste 30 mins to 45 mins on the helpline (which is very good by the way, they try their best).

I wouldn't suggest signing up for broadband from Virgin - it is unreliable, and if you were running a business from home you are asking for trouble.

21 September 2011

Virgin Media broadband is quite frankly the worst broadband I've ever wasted money on. It is incredibly slow - much of the time not even reaching 1Mb - and rendering it completely useless.

I work from home in academic research and so have to spend all my time in libraries, pubs and cafes with free wifi because I'm stuck in a contract with these clowns and can't even check my email at home without having to exercise the patience of a monk. They don't respond to emails and right now I'm on hold with them to demand someone come here and fix this ongoing problem. I've been on hold for over half an hour and counting. I have had it with Virgin. Do not use them - anything would be better than this!

10 August 2011
David Koffler

I've had Virgin Media broadband for several years and have largely been very pleased with the service and the support staff. My one piece of advice would be to monitor your bill very carefully and make sure that it matches the commitment they made. I just arranged for my daughter and her flat mates to sign up to their XL 30Mb service (without a phone) as there are seven of them. I also decided to upgrade from L 20Mb to XL 30Mb myself and in the end the only way I could get them to match the price was to speak to disconnections.

9 August 2011

Terrible! Over sold network, full of lies and empty promises!

28 July 2011

Phone line is mandatory with all Virgin Media packages. I only want broadband but have to have phoneline - what a rip off? They're the only company that can do it but they won't.

29 October 2013

Not anymore.

28 July 2011
Choose team

You can definitely get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line if you're a new customer. We're 100% on this one.

Click through from any of our standalone broadband reviews to double check the exact pages on the Virgin site where services "without a Virgin Phone line" are listed.

Perhaps, for some bizarre reason, they don't want to offer it to you as an existing customer?

18 July 2011
paul johnson

Virgin Media are rubbish, I took my tenancy on 7 months ago and applied to Virgin for the complete package. They wouldn't accept me as a new customer because there was debt linked to my address even though I have never had Virgin. It seems they can be picky. Now I have BT and no problems at all.

Please read our full disclaimer for important information that relates to the information and service we provide and your use of this site.

We aim to provide free reviews and comparisons of consumer products. To keep the site free, we are paid by some providers when new customers take products after they've clicked on our links. We don't allow our editorial content to be affected by those links, however we may not include all of the products available in the market.

If you would like to get in touch with us you can contact us here.